Page 12 - UCT2012 Engineering and the Built Environment

Basic HTML Version

Artistic works
Low, I. 2012. Digest of South African Architecture 2011.
Master’s degrees (by research)
Du Plessis, K. 2012. Promoting inclusionary regeneration
processes and outcomes in Woodstock, Cape Town: local
actors and agencies solutions to countering market-led
gentrification in their neighbourhood. Master of City and
Regional Planning. 179pp. Supervised by Winkler, T.
Bosworth, R. 2012. Ruimsig informal settlement: spatial
dialectics and upgrade planning. Master of City and
Regional Planning. 101pp. Supervised by Winkler, T.
Department of Chemical
(Including the Centre for Bioprocess
Engineering Research (CeBER), the Centre
for Catalysis Research, c*change – DST-
NRF Centre of Excellence in Catalysis,
HySA/catalysis – National Hydrogen
Catalysis Competence Centre, the Centre
for Minerals Research, the Centre for
Research in Engineering Education and
the Crystallization and Precipitation
Research Unit)
Head of Department: Professor Alison
E Lewis
Departmental Profile
The vision of The Department of Chemical Engineering
is to be “A Beacon in Education and Research”, which
we aim to fulfil through our combined undergraduate
and postgraduate programmes. The undergraduate
programme is accredited by the Engineering Council of
South Africa, whilst the undergraduate and postgraduate
programmes both have national and international
recognition for their high quality graduates.
Our postgraduate programme is the largest academic
research activity in Chemical Engineering in Africa and
is based on a strong link between fundamental research
and its application to the solution of industrial and
applied problems.
The research programme is focussed around five
Bioprocessing, Catalysis, Crystallization & Precipitation,
Engineering Education and Minerals Processing.
The department also has strong research interests
in Environmental Process Engineering and Process
Modelling. The Chemical Engineering Department also
hosts the DST-NRF Centre of Excellence in Catalysis,
the DST Hydrogen Catalysis Centre of Competence,
the South African Minerals to Metals Research Institute
(SAMRI), four DST/NRF SARChI chairs: Minerals
Beneficiation, Bioprocess Engineering, Nano-Materials
for Catalysis and Reaction Engineering, as well as the
Anglo American Platinum Chair in Minerals Processing.
Noteworthy research-related
achievements in 2012
Dr Dyllon Randall, from the Crystallization and Precipitation
Research Unit in the Department of Chemical Engineering,
was one of three South African scientists to receive
the renowned “Green Talents” sustainability prize in a
competition organised by the German Federal Ministry of
Education and Research in Berlin.
A first-of-its-kind convention dedicated to synthesis
gas conversion - one of the key industrial technologies
underpinning the South African economy - took place in
Cape Town in April. The event was hosted by c*change, the
Department of Science and Technology and the National
Research Foundation's Centre of Excellence in Catalysis at
UCT, in association with Sasol, PetroSA and other sponsors.
Professor Alison Lewis was awarded the Department of
Science and Technology’s Distinguished Women Scientist
Award in the 2012 South African Women in Science Awards.
Dr Adeniyi Isafiade received NRF Y2 rating.
Chemical Engineering had its highest-ever number of
graduating students in 2012 – 99, 25 more than in 2011, and
43 more than in 2010.
Departmental Statistics
Professor (contract)
Associate Professors
Senior Lecturers
Lecturers - Contract
Research Staff (permanent)
Research Staff (contract)
Technical & Scientific Staff (permanent & Long-term