Page 134 - UCT2012 Health Sciences

Basic HTML Version

discrimination and psychological well-being in the USA
and South Africa. Ethnicity and Health, 17(1-2): 111-133.
Yang, Y., Roussotte, F., Kan, E., Sulik, K.K., Mattson, S.N.,
Riley, E., Jones, K.L., Adnams, C.M., May, P.A., OConnor,
M.J., Narr, K.L. and Sowell, E.R. 2012. Abnormal cortical
thickness alterations in fetal alcohol spectrum disorders
and their relationships with facial dysmorphology. Cerebral
Cortex, 22: 1170-1179.
Yang, Y., Phillips, O.R., Kan, E., Sulik, K.K., Mattson, S.N.,
Riley, E., Jones, K.L., Adnams, C.M., May, P.A., OConnor,
M.J., Narr, K.L. and Sowell, E.R. 2012. Callosal thickness
reductions relate to facial dysmorphology in fetal alcohol
spectrum disorders. Alcoholism-Clinical and Experimental
Research, 36(5): 798-806.
Peer-reviewed published conference
Narayanan, P., Warton, C.M.R., Jacobson, S.W., Jacobson,
J.L., Molteno, C.D. and Meintjes, E.M. 2012. Comparison
of volumes of cerebellar lobules on structural MRI using
manual and automatic segmentation in normal and alcohol-
exposed children. Proceedings of the International Society
for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM), 20th Annual
Meeting & Exhibition (2012), 5-11 May 2012, Melbourne,
Australia. USA: ISMRM International Society for Magnetic
Resonance in Medicine. ISSN 15454428.
School of Public Health and
Family Medicine
Professor Leslie London (until September 2012)
Professor Mohamed Jeebhay (incoming since October
Deputy Director: Associate Professor Derek Hellenberg
(until September 2012)
Deputy Head for Public Health: Professor Mohamed
Jeebhay (until September 2012)
School Profile
The School of Public Health and Family Medicine is a
strong multidisciplinary department in the Faculty of
Health Sciences. Its teaching, research and service extend
to a wide range of settings and content areas consistent
with the evolving disciplines of Public Health and Family
The School celebrated its 40
birthday since the creation
and filling of an Inaugural Chair in what was then called the
Unit for “Comprehensive and Community Medicine” in
the Department of Medicine in 1972, with a handful of staff
complement compared to its growing staff complement
currently standing at 186
The School is currently comprised of two Divisions – the
Division of Public Health and the Division of Family
Medicine, but initiatives are underway following a response
to its 2009 departmental review to re-align its organisational
design to encompass the broadening scope of its teaching
and research activities
The Division of Public Health has a wide variety of service,
policy, research and training activities. A focus continues to
be the training of master’s and doctoral students in public
health, as well as public health medicine and occupational
medicine specialists. Along with a postgraduate diploma
in health management, and postgraduate qualifications in
Health Economics, these programmes train a wide range of
public health professionals for leadership roles in the public
sector. For example, Public Health Medicine registrars are
placed at the Provincial Health Department Head Office,
in its programmes directorate and in the various districts
as well as providing support to the Chief Directorate for
Strategy and Health Support, while Occupational Medicine
registrars provide services in a range of tertiary clinics. The
Occupational Medicine Clinic at GSH is the only public
sector occupational diseases referral clinic in the Western
Cape and one of three in the country.
The Division of Family Medicine has as its focus the training
of primary level medical practitioners (family physicians)
for the public sector. It also houses the pioneering South
African programme in Palliative Medicine.The Division
has staff on the joint establishment (with the PGWC
Health Department) who have clinical, teaching and clinical
governance responsibilities at a number of Community
Health Centres and District Hospitals around the city.
The Division began training Family Medicine registrars in
February 2008 after family medicine was recognized as a
specialty by the Health Professions Council of South Africa
(HPCSA) in August 2007.
The School runs a large postgraduate programme, including
7 postgraduate diplomas, 6 Master’s programmes, 3
professional Master’s programmes and a PhD programme.
In 2012, there were 347 postgraduate students in the School
including 27 PhD students. A total of 129 postgraduate
students graduated in 2012, including 4 PhDs, 37 Master’s
and 88 postgraduate diploma students. The Master’s in
Public Health (MPH) is the School’s flagship public health