Page 164 - UCT2012 Health Sciences

Basic HTML Version

Epidemiologist. Director of Kilimanjaro Centre for
Coimmunity Ophthalmology.
Professor S Lewallen
Ophthalmologist. Director of Kilimanjaro Centre for
Community Ophthalmology.
Contact Details
Division of Ophthalmology, University of Cape Town
Medical School, Observatory 7925
Tel: +27 21 406 6216
Fax: +27 21 406 6218
UCT General enquiries: +27 21 650 9111
UCT web:
Department Of Surgery
Division Of Orthopaedic Surgery
Head of Division - Professor Robert Dunn
Divisional Profile
2012 was a year of re-organisation with the retirement
of Professor Walters and appointment of Professor
Robert Dunn to the Pieter Moll and Nuffield Chair. This
necessitated a staff reshuffle with Dr Stephen Roche being
promoted to HOCU: Adult reconstructive unit and Graham
McCollum to run the foot and ankle service.
Professor Hoffman’s retirement as head of Paediatric
Orthopaedic Surgery led to Stewart Dix Peek assuming this
role supported by the newly appointed Stewart Dix Peek.
An additional post was established to strengthen General
Orthopaedic management and Ian Koller appointed.
There is a renewed energy with this change. The
undergraduate program has been overhauled with more
student - consultant contact time, adoption of IT augmented
teaching with the use of tablets and pre-loaded instruction
videos filmed and edited by Nick Kruger. The exam format
has been improved with collaboration with Rachel Weiss’
teaching unit and multi-station double track OSCE’s.
Research has been prioritised with 22 papers presented at
the national Orthopaedic meeting in September. Robert
Dunn was awarded the Best Orthopaedic publication
by the SAOA for the paper “MRI findings of Spinal TB:
Comparison of HIV positive and negative patients”. Dr
Roche was awarded best paper at the British Elbow and
Shoulder Society meeting. Dr Maree was awarded best
Hand paper at the annual Hand meeting.
The department continued to run its annual spine cadaver
and porcine based live tissue courses which attract national
and regional delegates. In addition, postgraduate teaching
has been strengthened with regular cadaver based surgical
training under the direction of Dr Roche.
The department continues to have a national impact
with Robert Dunn as president of the Spine Society,
Orthopaedic College and SAOA EXCO, Stewart Dix Peek
president of Paediatric Orthopaedic Surgery and Steve
Roche secretary of Shoulder / Elbow Society.
Our clinical units continue to flourish despite the local
challenges with well established Acute Spine Injury
Unit, Hand Unit, Orthopaedic Trauma unit, Paediatric
Orthopaedic Unit and Adult reconstructive unit which
houses upper and lower limb arthroplasty, soft tissue
reconstruction, elective spine surgery and Orthopaedic
Due to these well established units, we have increasing
sub-specialist fellowship training. Currently we have a
Upper limb, Lower limb arthroplasty and two spine long
term fellowships. In addition there are frequent visits by
overseas specialists to observe our work.
Our department has been recognised by the International
Society of Orthopaedic Centres (ISOC) as a full member.
This is an exclusive group of 18 global centres based in 4
continents. This allows interaction on all levels including
organisational and academic.
Divisional Statistics
Permanent and Long-Term Contract Staff
Senior Lecturers
Senior Lecturers – Part-time
Lecturers – Full-time
Lecturers – Part-time
Administrative and Clerical Staff
Postgraduate FCS(SA) Orth & MMed
Undergraduate MBChB
Bsc Physio/Occupational Therapy
Diploma in Orthopaedic Nursing Science