Page 79 - UCT2012 Science

Basic HTML Version

Faculty of Science
Associate Professor Justin O’Riain
Social mammals; behavioural ecology; vertebrate
Associate Professor Mike Picker
Insect ecology; insect biodiversity
Dr Deena Pillay
Lecturer; estuarine ecology; rocky-shore ecology; benthic
ecology, biological interactions
Dr Cecile C. Reed
Lecturer; Aquatic Parasitology, freshwater ecology and
Professor Les Underhill
Director Animal Demography Unit. Interfaces statistics
and biology, in applications of statistics in the biological
sciences, particularly ornithology and ecology
Professor Graeme Cumming
Chair of Conservation Biology. Landscape ecology,
conservation biology, community ecology, resilience and
complex systems theory
Professor Tim Crowe
Evolution; systematics; gamebird management; sustainable
utilization of wildlife
Professor Phil Hockey
Director, Percy Fitzpatrick Institute of African Ornithology.
Avian evolutionary biology; shorebirds; migration;
community ecology; behaviour; ecology of rarity
Associate Professor Peter Ryan
Seabird-fishery interactions; avian evolutionary biology;
marine pollution; behavioural ecology; island conservation
Dr Arjun Amar
Raptor research, Rarity & conservation of African birds
Technical and Administrative Support
George du Plessis – Chief Technical Officer
Granville Faulmann – Workshop/Departmental Assistant
Phelisa Hans – Niven Library Assistant
Tania Celest Jansen – PFIAO CoE Senior Secretary
Natalie Jodamus – SAP Administrator
Margaret Koopman – Niven Library Manager
Shanaaz Manie – Administrative Officer
Meg Ledeboer – Administrative Officer
Petra Muller – Chief Technical Officer
Jo-Wayne Palmer – Senior Secretary
Soraya Abrahams – Senior Secretary
Liesl Phigeland – Senior Scientific Officer
Andrea Plos – Principal Technical Officer
Hilary Buchanan – Administrative Assistant
Anthea Links – Departmental Assistant
F A C Impson – Scientific Officer
C A Kleinjan – Scientific Officer
V C Moran – Scientific Officer
R A Navarro – Scientific Officer
Chris Tobler – Principal Technical Officer
Contract Research Staff
Mr Doug Harebottle
SABAP2 Project Manager. Movement data for waterbirds in
the African Eurasian flyway.
Ms Fiona Impson
Development of insect agents for biological control of
alien invasive plants.
Ms Carien Kleinjan
Evaluation of insect agents used for biological control of
alien invasive plants.
Dr Heather Malan
Aquatic pollution; water quality; wetlands, sustainable
urban drainage.
Dr Dieter Oschadleus
SAFRING Project Coordinator. African Weaver birds
Mrs Donella Young
CAR Project Coordinator. Coordinated Avifaunal
Roadcounts; Long term monitoring of large terrestrial birds
in agricultural landscapes
Mrs Gilly Smith
MBRC Research Officer
Mr Oscar Frank Noels
Mr Michael Brooks
Mrs Marja Thea Wren-Sargent
Rene Aldredo Navarro
Susan Kuyper
Mr Jacobus Jan Claasen
Ms Shaamielah Davids
Mr Emlyn Rhys